Robert Adams: Inspiration

Robert Adams has continued to inspire my work in the photographic arts.  Though I may take some of his ideas and some of the ose of others and begin to combine them.  I started a project that was heavily influenced by his seascape work last fall, I plan to continue this work but it has gone through a few changes and reedits of the photos.

The following was inspired From Adams’ sea scape work. I posted the before but i have never posted the new edit’s of the images.  My first time editing the images i tried very hard to follow with his asthetics of the more blown out image, mostly high key but with occasional areas of dark black.

After hanging these on the wall at the begining of the semester, and stareing at them for weeks on end, I was no longer ok with the original edit, and though I have not done all of the images yet I am happy with my new image.

The new image I decided to go darker, more contrast and to provide some texture into the image through Nik color effects.  Some how to me this felt more tactile, and really portrayed why I love the ocean as much as I do.

Next step on this project is to make some physical prints, and destroy them.

Leave a comment